Car accidents are very stressful, and people don’t always react in the right way. Some people have a tendency to panic, even if it is a genuine accident. This sometimes results in them unwisely leaving the scene. Unfortunately, this is likely to lead to charges of at least one criminal offense. Being arrested and charged with a crime is never something that you want to have to deal with, but it is a reality for a lot of people. The best thing that you can do is ensure you have legal representation as soon as possible so that you can put forward the best defense. When you need help, contact the best criminal defense attorney, John L. Michels.
Call: (951) 309-7500 Criminal Defense Help 24/7
in Riverside County
What Could You Be Charged with in a Hit and Run?
Understanding what you might be charged with in the case of a hit and run is essential to knowing your current position. Hit and Run is listed in the California Vehicle Code. California Vehicle Code §20002 is a misdemeanor that prohibits leaving the scene of an accident without identifying yourself to others when someone’s property is damaged. California Vehicle Code § 20001 Felony Hit and Run is a more serious offense, which applies to leaving the scene of an accident when someone is killed or injured. This can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
Other related offenses include driving without a license, driving under the influence, and reckless driving. These are just some of the other offenses that someone could be charged with along with a hit and run charge. If you have been charged with any of these offenses, it’s crucial to contact a reckless driving attorney as soon as possible.
Consequences for a Hit and Run
The possible consequences for a hit and run charge will depend on what type of offense it is. If charged under California Vehicle Code §20002, this misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of six months in a county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. It may also include probation for three years, 2 points on a California driving record, and restitution for the damage caused. A misdemeanor criminal defense attorney will help you to secure the best outcome. Contact The Law Offices of John L. Michels to get started.
California Vehicle Code § 20001 Felony Hit and Run has more serious consequences. If charged as a misdemeanor, it could result in a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000 and up to one year in county jail. As a felony, it could result in a fine between $1,000 and $10,000 and 16 months to 3 years in state prison. If a death or serious injury has occurred, it could mean 2-4 years in state prison.
If any other offenses, such as DUI, are involved, there could be further consequences. If you or a loved one is charged with a hit and run offense, get in touch with John L. Michels to speak to the best criminal defense attorney in Riverside County.
How a Reckless Driving Attorney Can Help
Hiring a criminal defense attorney in Riverside is the best thing you can do to ensure you address hit and run charges in the right way. You should secure legal advice and representation as quickly as you can so that you can mount an adequate defense. A hit and run or DUI attorney in Riverside can defend you in court to help get the verdict that you want or can help to reduce the charges that you face. You could have a chance of avoiding jail time or unaffordable fines with the right defense attorney on your side.
When other offenses are involved, it’s important to choose an attorney with experience in the correct area. If you need a DUI crash attorney or a reckless driving attorney, contact John L. Michels to discuss your case.
Contact Us Today
Seize your best chance to avoid jail time for hit and run charges in Riverside County by hiring an experienced and trustworthy attorney. Get in touch with John L. Michels today to get started and ensure you have the best defense for your case. Call (951) 309-7500 at any time and on any day to speak to someone in English or Spanish.
We operate in multiple courthouses in Riverside County. If you need a criminal defense attorney in Riverside, Temecula, Murrieta, Banning, Indio, or Rancho Cucamonga, contact us today to ask about how we can help you.